Brazoria County Assault Defense Lawyers
Retain Counsel from a Criminal Defense Attorney in Brazoria & Galveston Counties
Assault is the act of threatening or committing bodily harm or injury against another. The consequences for a conviction can be severe, and you shouldn’t hesitate to retain experienced, high-quality counsel if you’ve been arrested and charged with either one of these crimes.
At the Law Office of Steve O. Gonzalez, we’re fully-committed to your cause and we’re powerful allies fighting in your corner against your prosecution. We believe everyone who faces the harshness of the criminal justice system in Texas deserves the highest quality representation, and our trial-tested advocates have earned a reputation for excellence thanks to our long list of successful cases and optimal outcomes. We’re passionate about what we do, and we’re capable of standing up for you through every step of the process, from the very beginning in your arrest and questioning all the way through the end of your trial. We believe you should have legal counsel you can trust, and that’s why we commit ourselves to the highest standards of ethics and professional conduct.
Arrested and charged with assault? Give us a call today at (832) 900-9867 to request a consultation and review your options.
“Simple” assault, or cases where no aggravating or mitigating factors are present, does not require any physical contact in order to warrant a charge and a subsequent conviction. Simple assault charges are usually considered Class A misdemeanors, but could be promoted to felony level in certain circumstances, such as causing “serious bodily injury.”
Penalties for assault in Texas can include:
- Incarceration in jail or state prison
- Large fines
- Permanent criminal record
- Possible loss of rights & privileges
The definitions and penalties for misdemeanor assault crimes are as follows:
- Class C misdemeanor: Threatening bodily harm or making offensive physical contact. Punishable by a fine of up to $500.
- Class B misdemeanor: Committing assault against a sports participant during a performance. Punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.
- Class A misdemeanor: Causing physical bodily injury to another person or making offensive physical contact with an elderly person. Punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000.
In certain circumstances, assault charges can be escalated to felony-level. These circumstances, known as “aggravating factors,” can include assaulting a family member, a known public servant, an emergency services worker, or an individual of another protected profession, or using a deadly weapon to conduct the assault.
In these instances, the assault charges are promoted to a felony, which means you could face between two and ten years in Texas state prison, plus a fine not to exceed $10,000 as well as additional penalties for having a permanent felony record.
The penalties for felony assault crimes are as follows:
- Third degree felony: Up to 10 years in prison, fine of up to $10,000
- Second degree felony: 2 to 20 years in prison, fine of up to $10,000.
- First degree felony: 5 years to life in prison and a fine.
Contact the Law Office of Steve O. Gonzalez and start building your defense today!