Underage DUI in Brazoria County, Texas
Talk with a Galveston DUI Attorney Today
The state of Texas strictly enforces the legal drinking age and the surrounding penalties. Consumption of alcohol by any individual under the age of 21 is illegal unless the individual's legal guardian has given explicit consent. In most cases, underage drinking is not performed with the consent of a guardian, making it more likely for a teen to try and drive home rather than call on their guardian.
Recent statistics have shown that drivers under the age of 21 account for 14% of DUI-related deaths and accidents in the state of Texas. This has led law enforcement to strictly crack down on all underage drivers, often make quick arrests on lacking evidence. If you have been wrongfully charged with underage DUI, be sure to seek legal protection right away. Whether your charges have been brought against you unfairly or you believe too harsh of penalties have been set down, our firm is here to help. With over 25 years of legal experience, Attorney Steve Gonzalez knows how to aggressively protect his clients and their legal rights.
Zero-Tolerance Laws & DUI Penalties
In Texas, there are many strict rules against underage drinking. As a zero-tolerance state, an underage driver could be charged with a DUI for any blood alcohol content above 00.00%. This means those police officers only need to find a fraction of a percentage to bring a charge against you, leaving great room for error and misreading. An underage driver can also be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Texas, which is considered a Class C offense and will usually carry a fine up to $500 and a temporary license suspension.
Even if you have no alcohol left in your body, an officer could still charge you with DUI if your breath smells of alcohol. If an underage driver is convicted of DUI, they could face short-term imprisonment, thousands of dollars in fines, and a license suspension for up to 90 days. If a second DUI conviction occurs within the next 10 years, the individual could face a full year in jail and nearly $4,000 in fines. On top of that, they could have their license suspended for a full year. With such strict penalties and enforcement of underage DUI, it is crucial that you speak with a Brazoria DUI lawyer about your charges right away. Our firm is here to offer the dedicated counsel and protection you deserve.
Contact us now to schedule your initial consultation!