DWI Breath & Blood Tests
Brazoria County DWI Attorney Serving Galveston & Beyond
If you are pulled over in Texas on suspicion of driving while intoxicated (DWI), you will be asked to submit to a chemical blood test or a breath test in order to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC). In this state, a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher is considered over the legal limit. DWI charges are serious and can lead to heavy penalties.
Should I refuse the chemical BAC test?
The "implied consent" law in the state of Texas means that by driving here you consent to take a chemical test if an officer has probable cause to suspect that you have been drinking. If you refuse to take the test, your driver's license will be confiscated and suspended for a minimum of 180 days. If you do take the test and fail it, your license will only be suspended for 90 days. At the time of your arrest, the officer should inform you of this.
Accuracy of Blood & Breath Tests
BAC tests are fairly accurate, but they are not failsafe. Blood tests are considered to be the most accurate form of testing according to forensic experts, but obtaining a blood sample is invasive and difficult. Breath tests, while much simpler to conduct, have a relatively large margin for error.
Even if you fail your test, your case is not lost. Choose an attorney known for fierce and thick-skinned representation. At the Law Office of Steve O. Gonzalez, we are committed to fighting for our clients and getting your freedom back after a DWI arrest.
Aggressive Defense in Brazoria County
Are you facing drunk driving charges in Alvin or one of the surrounding communities? It is important that you move quickly to secure effective, strategic defense. Our firm has a legacy of success and a reputation for helping clients.
Call the Law Office of Steve O. Gonzalez today to schedule your initial consultation.